Gutting the bug – part 1

Since the bug will need to be gutted down to it’s shell for paint and body work, I need to get started on taking away some of the exterior components. I began with what I could today as my mentor agreed to help me take out all the electrical components and the tricky stuff out of the car later. As I began gutting the bug of some of the exterior assemblies such as the headlights, bumpers, and seat belts, I began to take note on what parts I would need to replace, such as the bolts on the bumpers that were rusted through and didn’t fit in with the bumper. I also discovered that a new headlight assembly would be needed for the left headlight. In the next work day, I hope to have my mentor help me take apart all the electrical components and even the motor later on. I also need to buy bins to store all the parts I rip off the bug for later use.

Leave a Reply

